The Art of Solitude…

Pebble Art

 

Whenever I don’t like being in the annoying crowd I start missing my couch and solitude! I get my energy back when I am home,  inside pages of a favorite book or by smelling the flavor of something I baked that day! I love crowd but I do not love obnoxious company,I do not love spending time with shallowness and hollowness of words around me!

Solitude is an idea that I fall for pretty frequently. But I hardly go for a long hike or for a long drive alone! In real life, I don’t love being alone. I call it “solitude” when I have some favorite activities to do [ like reading, writing, cooking, photography etc!] without disturbance or have someone favorite to talk to! I am miserable without favorite people or work around me!

So when this weekend my husband planned to travel , I was planning a lot of things to keep my mind occupied : blog reading, writing, reading two new books, studying a new technology, studying photography tips, making travel plans for 2014, cooking chicken curry etc! And while increasing the length of that list, I was still trying to find a way to be with him in NYC . “Just to see the snow-wrapped Central Park” : I was giving this excuse to myself!

But I could not travel with him; I had office related activities going on the weekend too.

Now I don’t know where three days went! I read, wrote,spoke to all friends, did painting, ate, slept, worked. 72 hours vanished like some happy fractions of seconds!

And I made all of these pebble art pieces too while watching multiple movies on Netflix! I love abstract images ,so I started transforming pebbles to something completely different.  

This time, I think, I nailed the reality of a lovely solitude!

6

14 thoughts on “The Art of Solitude…

  1. I love the pebble art! It’s beautiful! I have tons of pebbles and stones that the kids have given me (some Mom’s get picked flowers or macaroni necklaces, my kids gave me rocks, twigs, leaves, and acorn tops lol and of course I saved them!) I have them in clear glass bowls around the house. People visit and ask me why I have bowls of rocks on my shelves ;)

    • Thank you. :) I love pebbles and these abstract things look nice on walls and book shelf. :) Inexpensive raw materials to make something beautiful ! :) Ha ha! That’s so cute , you saved all of them . :)

  2. Lovely pebbly art. :) That’s one thing about my situation. When Robert and I are together it’s full on and apart it’s full on too because then there is an ocean separating us…sort of no happy medium…lol. But I do loose track of time when I’m painting or writing poetry or something artistic. Last week R came into the studio and asked me what time I thought it was and I honestly thought I had only been there a maximum of 2 hours instead of 5! Holy smokes…eh?

    • I admire your art and artistic taste , Veronica. I forget to track time too when I do photography [ or even check my old photographs] , write or read. :) Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving your wonderful words. :)

So what do you think?

