Just A Day…

imagesTwo days ago, I thought of taking a walk to a nearby store. It was afternoon ; a warm weekend afternoon when people either chose to be busy or take a nap again.

On the sidewalk , I noticed a duck gazing at me suspiciously. I walked at my pace without bothering much .Soon, I found him standing there as a guard ,protecting another duck and three ducklings who were happily asleep.  It was such a peaceful sight. I smiled .

Within 10 ft or so , I saw a man lying on the grass, under a big green tree ;  eye closed ; snoring – indicating the existence , not very loudly. There was a bicycle and some bags beside him . In our man-made world , he had no place to sleep or anyone to guard him. I sighed.

That very morning, one girl from my extended family shared her life stories with me. ” I wish you were here ..to help me . No one is listening to me. Where have you vanished? You do not even come on Gtalk nowadays.” She paused to breathe.  “We will talk more . I was unwell and busy; just managed to sail through .But I am there for you.“, I assured her. “What happened to you ? You were alright when we spoke last time. Right ?” She asked. I chose not to answer . Some stories better stay untouched , unexplained.

In the evening, My mom called. My Grandfather was in hospital , waiting for an arthroplasty to correct some of his joints. “He will be alright , Ma. Don’t worry. “, I tried to give my anxious mom a hug , from far..very far; actually a virtual one-sided tight hug.

My mom shares with me zillion times – how old age brings loneliness – the story of empty-nesters; how my grandfather had to go to doctor alone after his accident because all my maternal uncles were busy at work . My grandparents are very disciplined and self-dependent. I am very proud of them. There was a time in my life when I wanted to be like them – self-made , dreamer and with a big house full of happy people..After achieving many wonderful milestones in life , my grandfather did not have many people with him when he had the accident.

I wonder what “achievement” really means ! I wish I could build a chain of strength to connect all my friends and family members so tightly that loneliness dared to stare ! I wish I could fix broken hearts ,broken nests! I wish I could be present at many places to help ,or hug ,or listen!

Sometimes..

people need people..
to hug..
to share..
to pour..
to depend on..
to care..
or, simply ..to stand there ,

just like the duck I saw, that day…

Image from FB
Image from FB

** How do you stay connected with your loved ones? Do you prefer reading their updates on Facebook?  Do you want to stay connected with me and my posts on twitter? – You can find me @archieswords on twitter. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Just A Day…

  1. I wish your Grandpa well, Archita. I think your wish for your family and friends, and the rest, are beautiful wishes and I’m wishing them with you. 🙂

    1. Thank you so much for your lovely comment [like always]. 🙂 You know there are moments when I can only wish and hope for the best. Thank you for stopping by and your comment.They mean a lot.:)

  2. MY wishes for your grandpa to recover. life is such a fallacy and we are on our own most of the times, a sad fact of life…jeevan chalne ka naam,chalte raho subah shaam..

So what do you think?

