Travelling the Distance…

16

I feel contentment when I live in a particular place for quite some time. When I stayed in the lap of Himalayas , woke up to the beautiful sunrise everyday, I kept telling everyone ” This is the most beautiful place. Nothing can be more beautiful than this. Nothing can be more beautiful than a sunrise ! ” And the world was conspiring to prove me wrong.

Then I stayed in many great cities in the world .  I kept telling close people ” Nothing is better than a city that never sleeps. A city that is always awake to give me a hug !” And the world started conspiring again.  More surprises followed me !

I saw other mountains, I saw two different oceans and sea with beautiful names , analyzed their colors , I traveled to deserts , dense green forests  ; I had desserts from all great world cuisines.

And before I could feel contentment again , I saw Pacific ocean , wildly flowing , creating new lyrics , every minute . As of now , I feel – this is the most beautiful thing in the world. Taking pictures of pacific sunsets ,capturing ocean color from everywhere possible  – nothing can be better than this – I conclude again!

But, sometimes , I feel, I may end up saying – There’s nothing like home..! After travelling the whole world , I may end up surprising the world that conspired by creating surprises for me throughout my journey!

 

me

 

Yesterday, we went to beach again. This time , the ocean was wild and the world was mild – a foggy , warm world!

It is almost end of summer , but temperature was  touching 100 . From my picture ,you may think that the whole world was close to the ocean , with loved ones , busy in grilling food and celebrating the weekend ! But , somewhere , two souls were drinking tea , clicking pictures , laughing out for no reason and recording the sound of ocean ! If you did not meet them , this weekend- it’s okay!..Someday, we can meet by some sea shore!

****

I wrote a poem , quickly, before the Sunday could end at 11:59 PM. I wrote this  , thinking about a friend , after hearing her life story ! I know she will read this , pretty soon!

Distance

Distance is not measured in miles
when I travel to another country,
far from you.
Distance is like
when I talk about the conversation
I had in office this morning ,
and you browse your iPhone,
focusing on more interesting events.

Distance is not 
staying in two different apartments 
or having boundaries drawn around us.
Distance is like
when our hearts feel the same ,
but you pretend to ignore that
by lying to yourself.

Distance is not
what we calculate by mathematics,
when we walk in opposite directions.
Distance is like something
we calculate by emotions,
when I speak the truth
and you manage to escape 
to somewhere unknown to both of us,
for reasons best known to you.

sea color

 

12 thoughts on “Travelling the Distance…

  1. Beautiful , lively post Archita. Always getting surprises adds zing to the life. Great shots. My love and hugs to those two person, taking shots, drinking tea and laughing to no reasons. Be like that always. Best is yet to come I think. Lovely poem. Distances are all in mind. Sometimes two living under one roof can be miles apart and sometimes………………Love and hugs.

    1. Thank you very much, Indira. Your encouraging comments always push me to widen my boundary of experience and imagination. You are an inspiration and you know that. 🙂

      Those two people are sending you double size hugs and double love. 🙂 Yes, best is yet to come. 🙂 And I am one contented explorer. 🙂 I can turn any good thing into “best”! 🙂

      Thank you for your words about the poem. I am not the best person to write about relationships and you know , how I love children books and ghost stories, still ( like those in “Anandamela ” and ” Shuktara”) ..:) But, this one was for a special friend. Sometimes, written words touch heart faster! 🙂 Have a great day, Indira 🙂

  2. Someday I hope to travel to all different places so I can say each is the most beautiful place I’ve ever been!

    The poem is beautiful. You truly captured what distance is 🙂

    1. Thank you, C.K. 🙂 Hope my friend likes the poem. 🙂
      For a change , I wrote two posts within 12 hours..:)
      I spent some time today to read FPed posts too, just to understand their ingredients. 🙂

      Pretty soon, you’ll start and then there will be no end.:) I have one regret though, I never went back to any place that I loved .

      Thank you for stopping by and I hope you are feeling better.:)

      1. I can’t seem to figure out the ingredients for the FPs! I’ve seen some whose first post was FP and others who have blogged forever and not been. The poem is beautiful, I can’t imagine anyone not liking it 🙂

        Slowly I’m feeling better, too slowly but, slowly is better than not at all! 🙂 Hope you’re having a good night, Archita!

        1. C.K ,You are right. I could not figure out too. 🙂 FP is a good way to get attention and readers. But, then I realize ,that was not the reason I started blogging. 🙂 .
          I can understand the slowly better feeling part..:) I know how it feels :)..I am wishing you a speedy recovery and a very good night. 🙂

  3. Beautiful and soulful and emotional poem. As humans, we tend to get attached to places we visit..happ to me in Goa, Haryanaand Dilli even Agra that I wanted to settle out der:)

    1. Ha ha ha..Really? 🙂 Yes, Goa is a good place :D..I don’t feel attachment with any place, that much. I love travelling. 🙂 But, I conclude , many times – ” This is the best place!” Once , I had food at a Sanjeev Kapoor’s restaurant and I concluded -” No one can make Indian food better than this person!”..:) Of corse, I was proven wrong! 🙂

So what do you think?

