We shall never know all the good that a simple smile can do

coffee

I order my usual morning coffee, the little girl on the counter gives me a big smile, ” Isn’t it a good day?”

look around hurriedly, look at the shining May Sun, the heat, the perspiration, those dried out plants, and then..well.. I try to look at them once again.

I see a cheerful toddler ready to run in the sun. A lady in bright neon tank jogging on the pathway. An old man greeting his beaming friend, four hands expanding in the air, “After a long time! What a big surprise!” 

I smile too. This one time.

“Yes, it’s a very good day!” I reply and add extra chocolate and cinnamon to my coffee. 

**

Don’t have any reason to smile today? No worries.

Fellow blogger Eli, from Coachdaddyblog is asking “What Would Make You Smile, in 6 Words” and we all are sharing our own six words to make the smile wider. It’s a beautiful composition that I’ll reread on less bright days. There are more than 50 reasons right now.

So check Eli’s post, say hello, or just smile alone while sipping coffee and reading aloud. Anything is good today. 

14 thoughts on “We shall never know all the good that a simple smile can do

  1. Archita – this post made *me* smile. Thanks so much for taking part in my post, and for writing about it here. Also for sharing your words about the day … that made me smile, for sure.

    1. You did a marvelous job, Eli. That composition is going to make a thousand smiles on less bright days. 🙂 Thank you for including me in the list. Keep smiling. 🙂

      1. Thanks Archita. But it was the people who sent the cool stuff in that should get the credit – all I did was keep the mashed potatoes warm, so to speak.

        Thanks for joining the gang.

    1. Thank you, Rachel. 🙂 Ya, whole attention was on the coffee, that’s why that’s in color. 🙂 You have a fabulous blog there. I’ll check again soon. 🙂

  2. I need a reason to smile right now. So visited the blog, loved your line and your story here

So what do you think?

