The Art of Green Living

DSC_1316

“Her heart was a secret garden and the walls were very high.” ―  The Princess Bride

I want to say, this is a very bad year. It’s been the worst till now. But most probably I won’t say it, if we meet. Because I’m not that pessimist who wants this year to go soon so that she can dance in the light of next year. I’m an optimist. STILL. Perhaps I am going to utilize the last second of this year to make it less worse, more satisfactory.

new leavesDSC_1052

One of the reasons of writing less( and photographing less, and travelling less) is this sadness, or anger about the outcomes and experiences in this year. I don’t write when I’m broken. I don’t like to fill in all the blank places of social networking sites and blog pages with my grief, helplessness, and problems. In third decade of my life, I know that there are so many people who are braver than me, silently fighting all big battles without whining in front of the world. Maybe I want to be like them. Or maybe I’m like them.

DSC_1057IMG_7584

When I feel low, I try to look inward. I think about all the suggestions from those people who are brutally honest and know me more than I know myself. I also immerse myself in creative activities. Something difficult, but attainable. And of course I try to find a magic wand to make every mundane thing extra ordinary.  

Sometimes life is better with a tall glass of hot chocolate made from finest cocoa, cinnamon sugar, and cayenne pepper. Sometimes it’s better with a plate of simple pesto pasta. I feel good as long as I know what works for me.

IMG_7131

A year ago, I started making a small garden on my porch. As my mom once said, “Plants are the truest best friends of mankind.” It is true. The green corner is fresh, silent, and my happy zone. I regularly nurture the plants. And in return I get more love – sometimes invisible, sometimes loudly visible.

DSC_1310DSC_1060DSC_1308

Once I read about Thomas J Fogarty, visited his vineyard, and wanted to make a big green space for everyone. That dream is still at daydreaming stage. But this tiniest dream of creating my own green corner in this expensive city is one of my achievements this year. I grew grape tomatoes, made green beefsteak tomato chutney, remembered my golden childhood seeing the marigolds, lightened up murky days with a hot pink bougainvillea plant, prepared low fat basil pesto, used freshly harvested scallions, cilantro in Asian dishes, and added little spice to everything by baking pepper poppers.

Not that bad, right?

DSC_1315

Happy Weekend, everyone! Don’t forget to check all extra ordinary photographs and moments on dailypost, if you want a hint of inspiration today. Or you can go ahead and make a garden of your own. Love nature. It generously loves back. 

 

10 thoughts on “The Art of Green Living

  1. What lovely images! Looks like a beautiful garden.
    My gardening is what is keeping me up, during my low times too. 🙂
    “Love nature. It generously loves back.” True that! ❤

    1. Thank you. Gardening is healing. Right? I also grow my plants from good seeds and remember botany classes. Wonder what growing up is doing to me! I never loved gardening. I remember your garden, Arch. You’re doing a great job too.

  2. Always love your write-ups. This is for you.
    “Write it on your heart
    that every day is the best day in the year.
    He is rich who owns the day, and no one owns the day
    who allows it to be invaded with fret and anxiety.

    Finish every day and be done with it.
    You have done what you could.
    Some blunders and absurdities, no doubt crept in.
    Forget them as soon as you can, tomorrow is a new day;
    begin it well and serenely, with too high a spirit
    to be cumbered with your old nonsense.

    This new day is too dear,
    with its hopes and invitations,
    to waste a moment on the yesterdays.”
    ― Ralph Waldo Emerson

  3. Beautiful images. I have learned that there are a lot of hurting people in this world. Some cry out and others retreat. On the bright side, we had some rain in my neck of the woods. Hopefully we will have a wet winter and beautiful wildflowers this year. Looking forward to green hills.

  4. You might be someone’s inspiration, who knows. Life is a ride.
    Loved the post. Eating your own greens is the best. The light in every picture is so beautiful.

So what do you think?

