Call rose by any name

IMG_43201When the winter dies, my mother’s rose plants wake up. The pink one. The pale peach one. The red one. The white one. “Which one is your favorite?”

I never had perfect answer to that question. “None.” “Umm, maybe the white one.”

I never liked roses. I never understood why people loved that flower so much. Why people hold a rose to express the eternity of love. Why people celebrate love with a bouquet of roses. In a world where we have narcissus, jasmine, tuberose, lilies, tulip, peonies, daffodils, hydrangea, lotus, and so many unknown, unnamed flowers beside the pavement, why do we chase roses in supermarket? 

But this year I have two roses in my garden. Deep red. Kind of fragile in this weather. Every morning when the sun shines on them, I remember my days with my mother in her garden. They remind me of the bond between a mother and a daughter, the smell of early spring, and a lovely nostalgia that maybe only a rose plant can carry within. 

I can’t say, I’ve become a rose lover all of a sudden. But I love nostalgia, and everything that my mother grows in her garden.

** Are you a rose lover too? Or you’re like those few who love anything but perfect roses?

17 thoughts on “Call rose by any name

  1. Yes, so many beautiful memories coming back to life and I’m literally blushing writing this. Those lovely mornings when dew drops rested on their petals and I would just sit there and let it dazzle me. Those blissful moments of pristine beauty! Divine!

    1. Yes, you’re right. I also loved dewdrops on grass. Alas! I didn’t have a phone camera to carry all the time then, I would have saved all dew drops on pictures. Thank you for your comment, Ratisha.

  2. There is a certain fragrance from a specific type of rose–I wish I could name it–that takes me back to my parents’ garden. Makes me feel safe, happy and about 7 again:). Love that you have happy memories associated with your roses.

    1. That’s the beauty of nostalgia. It always takes us to the most beautiful moment of the past. I am not fond of roses, but I remember how my mom loves them in her garden. Thank you for sharing your wonderful memory here, Kristine.

  3. Beautiful rose Archita, I would like to see it in original colors. Sometimes when we are away from our loved ones we suddenly take their likes and dislikes as our own. Nostalgia dear nostalgia.

So what do you think?

