Rain in March

Scene of a rainy evening

“The sun did not shine. It was too wet to play. So we sat in the house. All that cold, cold, wet day.” ― The Cat in the Hat

I close my window and the rain goes dead,
I raise the curtain and it’s back again.

Drops are on the blurry windowpane,
and on the green bed of spring
where a yellow dot is blooming blatantly.
I close my window and the rain goes dead.

I dreamed about a mountain of snow
melting in my heart, a river flowing
slowly from half-slept eyelids.
Somewhere there’s a silent song that all
rivers share, or maybe that’s the sound of rain.
I raise the curtain and it’s back again.

I should have erased some thunderstorms
that startled hopes on cold nights.
When spring comes and rain drops
on pretty wildflowers, like a dandelion
in solitude I wave at the wind again.
There is life inside a fistful of newness.
I close my window and the rain goes dead.

Raindrop in spring

** Inspired by this rainy weekend**

 Linking with Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Nature (as Fortune Teller)

 

17 thoughts on “Rain in March

  1. I didn’t see a way to comment on your ‘thyme’ entry, so coming down here. I am helping out AJ Lauer (one of the A to Z Challenge co-hosts). Her group is called the ‘wHooligans’. I wanted to welcome you to the Challenge … it should be exciting! (I hope you’ll share some of your photography and poems during April. They are amazing!)

  2. We have rain for the first time in months too. I like your poem – it captures that dreamy feel of being indoors during a wet weekend

  3. Beautiful words and photos. The second shot is almost identical to one that’s the most popular post on my blog. 🙂 I hope you have some sunshine this week to dry things out a bit. But I imagine the plants are loving it!

    janet

    1. Plants are surely loving it. After all these years of dryness, every single place is emerald green these days. That macro shot is my favorite too. It is pretty rewarding. I will check your picture, it has to be the most popular post. Thank you for stopping by, Janet.

    1. Raindrop picture is my favorite too. Kind of miracle with a phone camera! I would say, using the macro is like meditation. So much patience, so many rewarding moments in nature. Thank you for hosting wonderful photo challenges each week, Sally. And thank you for stopping by.

  4. Simply Wow!! Especially this part where you refer to the sound of rain: Somewhere there’s a silent song that all
    rivers share, or maybe that’s the sound of rain.
    I raise the curtain and it’s back again.

    Rain in early spring is always mesmerizing.

So what do you think?

