Silicon Valley and Sourdough

SFO

Someone once asked me if the valley was made of Silicon or silicone.
Not really. The valley is made of ideas, ideas that change the world. Change that grows on us.
Sometimes the world wants to look large on a small browser window, then it happily shrinks within mobile applications. Keyboards go virtual. People make friendship with each other without real meetings. People create their versions on different platforms to find like-minded acquaintances. On road one day I find self-driving cars within a few feet.

self driving car on road

And it all started here in someone’s garage, or in a small rented house.google
Silicon valley is just another world within the world.  

I live here. Though I escape from all these man-made wonders to pacific or sierra pretty often, Silicon valley still is one of my most favorite places. Sometimes it feels like a futuristic world from a Science fiction. Sometimes while waiting at a bus stop, I see people working tirelessly on a new development, a piece of code, or a simple diagram of something complicated. I see people talking in multiple languages to people from other countries, exchanging opinions, modifying perceptions. I see human robots- always busy in some activities, I see brilliant minds, and some gifted souls here.
Sometimes I find tourists taking their selfies in front of the famous apple building with everyone’s favorite apple sign, or trying to search themselves before the google address. This is an amazing era of mixing reality with photographs.

The cafe I go is always filled up with bunch of analytical people who keep scripting new changes in technology. And change happens so frequently that their fingers hardly stop. To me it feels like home. Sometimes I am one of them. With thick glasses, letting hair down, wearing a pair of joggers and a tee, with a phone that does not stop and a laptop overflown with action points.

Almost everyone here is writing a code or analyzing, or designing new things, or opening another mind-blowing start-up. When I meet people at some party, most of our conversations are about new apple products, upcoming most awaited products, new start-ups, Tesla cars or..well, Elon Musk’s life stories.

But that’s not all that you can find here.

boudin sourdough

Over the years I have grown to love so many other things too- the apricot trees, persimmons in cool winter, redwoods that stand tall to listen heartwarming stories from people in love, recipes from new friends who make exotic international food in their kitchen, and sourdough bread.

Well, sourdough tops the list. French bakers transported sourdough techniques to Homemade grilled cheese with red bell peppersNorthern California during the California Gold Rush, and it remains a part of the culture in the valley till today. I never bake a sourdough bread as it’s so easily available in my favorite local bakery. If you want to bake, you can read more about it here.

Not a single week goes without a perfectly grilled cheese sourdough in our house. No guests ever leave the valley without tasting sourdough sandwich, and the sourdough bowl.

Acme sour baguette

Every week I get a sourdough loaf or a sourdough batard or a sour baguette and transform it to cheesy garlic bread, pizza with mozzarella and basil, grilled cheese, or just slices to go with rosemary flavored olive oil. They taste divine. It has become a ritual, a ritual I started to follow here. That way my love for the valley grows with every bite. 

Though living here means welcoming the pace of change in my everyday life, I am happy that there are certain things that will never change. 

⇐**⇒

 

15 thoughts on “Silicon Valley and Sourdough

  1. Its impressive, the way you painted the picture of Silicon valley.Not boring and techie like how we are used to thinking., but as a place where ideas are formed and realized, where the NEXT big thing is being built somewhere. Great job.

    1. Ha ha, Thank you, Sampada. It’s truly boring the way everyone works, thinks, and talks here. Like I said, it looks like a world from a science fiction sometimes. Plus the reality is compromised a lot of times. 🙂 But the here is beautiful- redwoods, pacific, and mountains are magical. Plus I love local traditions no matter where I travel or live, some of the traditions I learned by visiting smaller towns here. 🙂

  2. I love to read and feel the world others live in. I don’t know if I’ll ever get to visit all of them, but the love they have for where they are at the moment transcends distances. I used to work in Chicago, and although I’m way removed these days in the quiet countryside, every time I visit I feel the life pumping through my city veins. Thank you for sharing.

    1. You’re welcome. Chicago is beautiful, But city life is always fast paced and always changing, coutryside is where real life happens! Thank you for reading:)

  3. Happy to see a post written so brilliantly! I thought it was going to be as boring as Silicon Valley. I don’t like reading technology blogs. But how beautifully you presented your observations and new found loves! Who doesnt love a sourdough here? Pictures are as always mind-blowing!

So what do you think?

